Monstress Volume 1: Awakening

Monstress Vol. 1: Awakening

Publisher: Image Comics

Writer: Marjorie Liu

Artist: Sana Takeda

Release Date: 7/19/2016

SRP: $9.99

ISBN: 9781632157096



 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, Monstress tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, a connection that will transform them both and make them the target of both human and otherworldly powers.


KEY SELLING POINTS

  • New York Times bestselling graphic novel
  • Marjorie Liu is a best selling fantasy and graphic novel writer

Format: SC, Full Color - Size: 6.75 x 11 - Pages: 192 - Ages: 18+

Reviewed By: Mark Banaszak

Writer Marjorie Liu and artist Sana Takeda's Monstress is an engrossing and complex debut introducing readers to a girl's quest for revenge, and the world-changing effects that threatens to have.

Maika Halfwolf is the survivor of a devastating war that divided the peoples of her world: humans, the immortal animal-like Ancients, and the hybrid race Arcanics (of which Maika is one). Seeking revenge for the death of her mother, she gets herself into the clutches of a member of the witch-nun order the Cumaea, who rule humanity through cruelty and fear. In the midst of taking her vengeance against her mother's killer, she discovers a photo of herself and her mother along with unknown people, and part of a mask that calls to her. After her escape, Maika is hunted by the Cumaea, who use her people’s bodies to fuel their magic. As she tries to avoid the Cumaea's clutches, deeper mysteries unfold around her, particularly as she discovers an ancient monster living within her, who’s been with her family for generations. As Maika learns more about herself and her world, she finds the answers may bring destruction to herself and the entire world.

In Monstress, Liu presents a complex, multi-layered, and fully-formed book, both in its setting and in plot. A deep mythology runs through this world, which features elements reminiscent of Hayao Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke, ancient Egyptian mythology, colonial Europe, early 20th Century Asia, Art Deco, and the works of H.P. Lovecraft. Within this, characters from several races and orders move in concert and conflict, many with their own private agendas. Liu manages to make the characters feel full and engaging, and even manages to bring humor into scenes filled with portent and danger.

Takeda's art brings this world to life, with intricate line work, a breath-taking attention to detail, and vibrant coloring that draws the reader in immediately. This graphic novel looks gorgeous, and warrants slow reading just to take in the elaborate visuals.

With its byzantine machinations and rich fantasy world, Monstress should appeal to fans of Game of Thrones, Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, or Saga, and is suggested for Adult (18+) readers due to language, violence, and potentially disturbing elements of the story.

|    

Walking Dead Volume 27: The Whisperer War Walking Dead Volume 27: The Whisperer War
Image Comics
The time has come. The forces are aligning. The war has begun! Has Rick brought about the demise of everything he's built? Or will he triumph once again? Know this... there will be a cost. Collects THE WALKING DEAD #157-162. >>
Monstress Volume 1: Awakening Monstress Volume 1: Awakening
Image Comics
Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power. >>
Providence Act 1 Providence Act 1
Avatar Press
Alan Moore’s quintessential horror series has set the standard for a terrifying examination of the works of H.P. Lovecraft. Providence Act 1 Hard Cover edition that contains Providence issues #1-4. >>
Rick and Morty Volume 4 Rick and Morty Volume 4
Oni Press
The hit comic book series based on Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland’s hilarious [adult swim] animated show RICK & MORTY continues! Catch up on the adventures of degenerate genius Rick Sanchez and his bumbling grandson Morty as they explore the outer reaches of time, space, and morality. >>
Snotgirl Volume 1: Green Hair Don't Care Snotgirl Volume 1: Green Hair Don't Care
Image Comics
WHO IS LOTTIE PERSON? Is she a gorgeous, fun-loving social media star with a perfect life or a gross, allergy-ridden mess? Enter a world of snot, blood, and tears in this first collection from New York Times Best Seller BRYAN LEE O’MALLEY (Scott Pilgrim, Seconds) and dazzling newcomer LESLIE HUNG! >>
Britannia Britannia
Valiant Entertainment
On the fringes of civilization, the world’s first detective is about to make an unholy discovery… From comics mastermind Peter Milligan (X-Statix, Shade the Changing Man) and incendiary artist Juan Jose Ryp (NINJAK, Clone) comes a psychological journey into terror, temptation, and bloodshed in Valiant's latest magnum opus. >>
James Bond Volume 2: Eidolon James Bond Volume 2: Eidolon
Dynamite Entertainment
James Bond is trapped in Los Angeles with a MI6 agent under fire and a foreign intelligence service trying to put them both in bags... and possibly more than one foreign intelligence service. And things may not be any safer in Britain, with bodies dropping and ghosts moving in the political mist. Collecting issues #7-12. >>
Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairy Tales Slipcase Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairy Tales Slipcase
Penguin Group (UK)
Read legendary stories of monsters and heroes from across the Whoniverse, in this beautifully illustrated collection of dark and dangerous Time Lord fairy tales. Now including a brand new story for 2016, 'The Emporer Dalek's New Clothes', this slipcase is the perfect keepsake for any true Doctor Who fan. >>
Persona 4 Volume 6 Persona 4 Volume 6
Udon Entertainment
With the murderer Mitsuo Kubo apprehended and the case seemingly closed, life in Inaba returns to normal just in time for Soji and his friends to enjoy a well-earned summer vacation. But moving on is proving especially difficult for Naoki Konishi, for whom time has stood still ever since his sister Saki became the second murder victim. Can he and Yosuke find the peace they’re seeking, and is Soji and friends’ investigation truly over? >>
Art of Atari Art of Atari
Dynamite Entertainment Sourced from private collections worldwide, this book spans over 40 years of unique illustrations used in packaging, advertisements, catalogs, and more. >>