Monstress Volume 1: Awakening

Monstress Vol. 1: Awakening

Publisher: Image Comics

Writer: Marjorie Liu

Artist: Sana Takeda

Release Date: 7/19/2016

SRP: $9.99

ISBN: 9781632157096



 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, Monstress tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, a connection that will transform them both and make them the target of both human and otherworldly powers.


KEY SELLING POINTS

  • New York Times bestselling graphic novel
  • Marjorie Liu is a best selling fantasy and graphic novel writer

Format: SC, Full Color - Size: 6.75 x 11 - Pages: 192 - Ages: 18+

Reviewed By: Mark Banaszak

Writer Marjorie Liu and artist Sana Takeda's Monstress is an engrossing and complex debut introducing readers to a girl's quest for revenge, and the world-changing effects that threatens to have.

Maika Halfwolf is the survivor of a devastating war that divided the peoples of her world: humans, the immortal animal-like Ancients, and the hybrid race Arcanics (of which Maika is one). Seeking revenge for the death of her mother, she gets herself into the clutches of a member of the witch-nun order the Cumaea, who rule humanity through cruelty and fear. In the midst of taking her vengeance against her mother's killer, she discovers a photo of herself and her mother along with unknown people, and part of a mask that calls to her. After her escape, Maika is hunted by the Cumaea, who use her people’s bodies to fuel their magic. As she tries to avoid the Cumaea's clutches, deeper mysteries unfold around her, particularly as she discovers an ancient monster living within her, who’s been with her family for generations. As Maika learns more about herself and her world, she finds the answers may bring destruction to herself and the entire world.

In Monstress, Liu presents a complex, multi-layered, and fully-formed book, both in its setting and in plot. A deep mythology runs through this world, which features elements reminiscent of Hayao Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke, ancient Egyptian mythology, colonial Europe, early 20th Century Asia, Art Deco, and the works of H.P. Lovecraft. Within this, characters from several races and orders move in concert and conflict, many with their own private agendas. Liu manages to make the characters feel full and engaging, and even manages to bring humor into scenes filled with portent and danger.

Takeda's art brings this world to life, with intricate line work, a breath-taking attention to detail, and vibrant coloring that draws the reader in immediately. This graphic novel looks gorgeous, and warrants slow reading just to take in the elaborate visuals.

With its byzantine machinations and rich fantasy world, Monstress should appeal to fans of Game of Thrones, Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, or Saga, and is suggested for Adult (18+) readers due to language, violence, and potentially disturbing elements of the story.

|    

March Trilogy Slipcase Set March Trilogy Slipcase Set
Top Shelf Productions Celebrate with this commemorative set containing all three volumes of March in a stunning new slipcase. >>
Monstress Volume 1: Awakening Monstress Volume 1: Awakening
Image Comics
Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power. >>
Saga Volume 1 Saga Volume 1
Image Comics
When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in a sexy, subversive drama for adults. This specially priced volume collects the first arc of the smash hit series The Onion A.V. Club calls "the emotional epic Hollywood wishes it could make." Collects SAGA #1-6. >>
Walking Dead Compendium Volume 3 Walking Dead Compendium Volume 3
Image Comics
New York Times bestseller series returns with its third massive paperback collection! With over 1,000 pages, this volume contains the next chapter of Robert Kirkman's Eisner Award-winning continuing story of survival horror. Rick Grimes’ dream of rebuilding civilization is tested as the people of Alexandria come into contact with other communities that have developed their own methods of survival. Collects The Walking Dead #97-144. >>
Disney Descendants Wicked World Wish Granted Cinestory Comic Volume 1 Disney Descendants Wicked World Wish Granted Cinestory Comic Volume 1
Joe Books
Join Mal, Evie, Carlos, Jay, Ben and all-new characters as their stories unfold in Disney Descendants Wicked World Wish Granted animated shorts. There's no shortage of magic, mystery, and mischief at Auradon Prep. Princess Audrey, daughter of Princess Aurora, opts for a new hairdo…or don't? Mal conjures some unforeseen trouble while cheering at Spirit Day. Jordan, The Genie's daughter, gets some unexpected company at her magic lamp, and more! >>
Tome of Beasts Tome of Beasts
Paizo Publishng
This richly-illustrated, 400+ page supplement for any 5E game includes monsters from the entire history of Kobold Press, with longtime favorites such as clockwork creatures, drakes and dragons, devils and arch-devils, and dangerous flavors of the fey—illustrated by some of the finest artists working in fantasy today. >>
Art of Atari Art of Atari
Dynamite Entertainment Sourced from private collections worldwide, this book spans over 40 years of unique illustrations used in packaging, advertisements, catalogs, and more. >>
Rick and Morty Volume 4 Rick and Morty Volume 4
Oni Press
The hit comic book series based on Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland’s hilarious [adult swim] animated show RICK & MORTY continues! Catch up on the adventures of degenerate genius Rick Sanchez and his bumbling grandson Morty as they explore the outer reaches of time, space, and morality. >>