Monstress Volume 1: Awakening

Monstress Vol. 1: Awakening

Publisher: Image Comics

Writer: Marjorie Liu

Artist: Sana Takeda

Release Date: 7/19/2016

SRP: $9.99

ISBN: 9781632157096



 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, Monstress tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, a connection that will transform them both and make them the target of both human and otherworldly powers.


KEY SELLING POINTS

  • New York Times bestselling graphic novel
  • Marjorie Liu is a best selling fantasy and graphic novel writer

Format: SC, Full Color - Size: 6.75 x 11 - Pages: 192 - Ages: 18+

Reviewed By: Mark Banaszak

Writer Marjorie Liu and artist Sana Takeda's Monstress is an engrossing and complex debut introducing readers to a girl's quest for revenge, and the world-changing effects that threatens to have.

Maika Halfwolf is the survivor of a devastating war that divided the peoples of her world: humans, the immortal animal-like Ancients, and the hybrid race Arcanics (of which Maika is one). Seeking revenge for the death of her mother, she gets herself into the clutches of a member of the witch-nun order the Cumaea, who rule humanity through cruelty and fear. In the midst of taking her vengeance against her mother's killer, she discovers a photo of herself and her mother along with unknown people, and part of a mask that calls to her. After her escape, Maika is hunted by the Cumaea, who use her people’s bodies to fuel their magic. As she tries to avoid the Cumaea's clutches, deeper mysteries unfold around her, particularly as she discovers an ancient monster living within her, who’s been with her family for generations. As Maika learns more about herself and her world, she finds the answers may bring destruction to herself and the entire world.

In Monstress, Liu presents a complex, multi-layered, and fully-formed book, both in its setting and in plot. A deep mythology runs through this world, which features elements reminiscent of Hayao Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke, ancient Egyptian mythology, colonial Europe, early 20th Century Asia, Art Deco, and the works of H.P. Lovecraft. Within this, characters from several races and orders move in concert and conflict, many with their own private agendas. Liu manages to make the characters feel full and engaging, and even manages to bring humor into scenes filled with portent and danger.

Takeda's art brings this world to life, with intricate line work, a breath-taking attention to detail, and vibrant coloring that draws the reader in immediately. This graphic novel looks gorgeous, and warrants slow reading just to take in the elaborate visuals.

With its byzantine machinations and rich fantasy world, Monstress should appeal to fans of Game of Thrones, Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series, or Saga, and is suggested for Adult (18+) readers due to language, violence, and potentially disturbing elements of the story.

|    

Saga Book 2 Saga Book 2
Image Comics
SAGA BOOK TWO continues the action-packed education of Hazel, a child born to star-crossed parents from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war. Collecting 18 issues of the smash-hit comic, this massive edition features a striking original cover from Fiona Staples, as well as a brand-new gallery of exclusive, never-before-seen SAGA artwork from legendary creators including CLIFF CHIANG, PIA GUERRA, FAITH ERIN HICKS, and MORE! >>
Walking Dead Volume 27: The Whisperer War Walking Dead Volume 27: The Whisperer War
Image Comics
The time has come. The forces are aligning. The war has begun! Has Rick brought about the demise of everything he's built? Or will he triumph once again? Know this... there will be a cost. Collects THE WALKING DEAD #157-162. >>
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Bestiary 6 Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Bestiary 6
Paizo
The End is Nigh! Truly legendary heroes require truly legendary foes, and now these world-ending menaces have arrived! Within this book, you'll find hundreds of monsters for use in the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game. >>
Monstress Volume 1: Awakening Monstress Volume 1: Awakening
Image Comics
Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900's Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power. >>
Disney Manga: Beauty & Beast - Belle's Tale Disney Manga: Beauty & Beast - Belle's Tale
Tokyopop
In Disney's live-action film "Beauty and the Beast," Belle, a bright, beautiful and independent young woman, is taken prisoner by a beast in his castle. This manga explores Belle's innermost thoughts as she learns that true beauty comes from within. >>
Rick and Morty Volume 1 Rick and Morty Volume 1
Oni Press
The hit comic book series based on Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland’s hilarious [adult swim] animated show RICK & MORTY is now available in its first collection! Join the excitement as depraved genius Rick Sanchez embarks on insane adventures with his awkward grandson Morty across the universe and across time. >>
Providence Act 1 Providence Act 1
Avatar Press
Alan Moore’s quintessential horror series has set the standard for a terrifying examination of the works of H.P. Lovecraft. Providence Act 1 Hard Cover edition that contains Providence issues #1-4. >>
Yu-Gi-Oh! The Art of the Cards Yu-Gi-Oh! The Art of the Cards
Udon Entertainment
Yu-Gi-Oh! THE ART OF THE CARDS collects the classic artwork of every real life playable card featured in the original Yu-Gi-Oh! DUEL MONSTERS animated series. Featuring over 800 cards, this prestigious hardcover tome is the ultimate archive of the cards used by Yugi Muto, Joey Wheeler, Seto Kaiba, Mai Valentine and more in their battles to prove who truly has “the Heart of the Cards." >>
Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairy Tales Slipcase Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairy Tales Slipcase
Penguin Group (UK)
Read legendary stories of monsters and heroes from across the Whoniverse, in this beautifully illustrated collection of dark and dangerous Time Lord fairy tales. Now including a brand new story for 2016, 'The Emporer Dalek's New Clothes', this slipcase is the perfect keepsake for any true Doctor Who fan. >>
Divinity III: Stalinverse Divinity III: Stalinverse
Valiant Entertainment
Earth has a new god. The world you know is gone. Welcome to the Stalinverse, comrade. New York Times best-selling writer Matt Kindt (4001 A.D.) and blockbuster artist Trevor Hairsine (DIVINITY II) bring you the Valiant Universe like you've never seen it before! >>